Downtempo music trio KARMACODA share haunting duet

     Image credit: Gianfranco Bichine

The vocal range of singers Jessica Ford and Brett Crockett leave much to admire with their latest duet ‘Traps’, the vocalists who form part of the trio KARMACODA capture us with radiant alto vocals that reach for significantly high notes from Jessica Ford.  Combined with this is the rich baritone embrace that Brett Crockett rocks. Together these elements, along with downtempo instrumentals from Eric Matsuno, create a sweet harmony that many struggle to achieve in this genre. 

Pre-save ‘Traps’

 Focusing on the lyrical content, this duet captures the heart, mind, and soul. It is a tough topic to admit one’s true feelings in a relationship that has soured over time. ‘Traps’ dwells on the negative emotional effects one feels when they feel that they have no other option but to remain pinned down in a relationship that does not serve them anymore. Tragic, haunting yet stunning would be best to describe the music of this downtempo act, that have bared their hearts into their latest work. If you feel the desire to listen to more music like this, be sure to check out their album release Slow Down, Melt and Catch Fire on  the 28th of May via Sola Musa Music.

Jessica Ford adds: “The album was written over the last year of quarantine and during the stay at home order… ‘Traps’ was written not only from being trapped at home, but being trapped in a relationship simultaneously. It’s about wanting to get out but you can’t…. you are trapped.”

Slow Down, Melt and Catch Fire Tracklist

1. ​Dream On

2. ​We Know Just What To Do

3. Make Me The One

4. Lo-Fi Girl

5. ​Deep (Three)

6. ​Feels

7. ​Traps

8. Departure

9. Stay

10. Never

11. How I Feel

12. Not Afraid

13. Becoming One

14. Burn



cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail