Electronic musicians Subjective announce new album

Image Credit: Ollie Grove

Production duo and electronic virtuosos Subjective – comprised of legendary DJ and producer GOLDIE and acclaimed engineer and producer JAMES DAVIDSON – release the brand-new album track AMERICAN GODS feat. NATALIE DUNCAN’. The track is taken from their new upcoming album THE START OF NO REGRET’ which is set to be released on MAY 20th via THREE SIX ZERO RECORDINGS/SONY MUSIC.



On ‘American Gods’, Goldie and James Davidson utilise present-day downtempo aesthetics and fuse them together with the 90s house-laden vocals of Natalie Duncan to create a track that perfectly sits across multiple decades. It embraces underground culture while remaining accessible to a wide audience, meaning it is undoubtedly set to become an album favourite amongst all.

On the track Goldie commented; “American Gods is really influenced by being in Thailand and the idea of looking at the way the west has been with media and how intense it is for younger generation coming up. For me it’s like a bonfire with young people running round the maypole throwing their mobile phones on it in an ideal world. But that’s why American gods is being sick of following the Americanism and being more true to ones own soul.”

 With James adding; “American Gods is the song on the album that clearly shows my garage influences in the beat. Natalie absolutely smashes her performances on this making it one of my favourite tracks on the album.”

 The album, which features some incredibly exciting and varied names including nu-jazz staple Tom Misch on ‘Lost’ (A listed by BBC 6Music), south London up-and-comer Greentea Peng on ‘Dark’ and American jazz & soul vocalist Lady Blackbird on ‘Sunlight’; showing off both the rich history and calibre of Goldie and James Davidson’s individually but also how they can create something together that’s so cohesive and forward thinking. The sound the duo have been able to create is also partly due to their geographical locations over the past 18 months, bouncing ideas between Davidson’s studio in Bournemouth on the south coast and Goldie’s house in Phuket, Thailand; showing two songwriters and producers at the top of their game responding to a year and a half in very different atmospheres but similar trying circumstances.

Lead single from the album ‘Dassai Menace (The Virgil)’ (released with double A-side Fathoms’) was picked up by Virgil Abloh who used it to soundtrack his Louis Vuitton SS22 fashion film ‘Amen Break’ (watch here), with Goldie walking in the accompanying catwalk show. Goldie has also just finished a residency throughout February on BBC Radio 1 alongside the likes of world renown DJ’s Sama’ Abdulhadi, Folamour, Or:la, LCY and Scratcha DVA.

‘The Start of No Regret’ will be available on all digital platforms, as well as CD and double vinyl. Pre-order here.

Full tracklist

  1. The Start of No Regret
  2. Lost feat. Tom Misch and Frida Touray
  3. Brushstrokes feat. Cleveland Watkiss
  4. Dassai Menace
  5. American Gods feat. Natalie Duncan
  6. Azimuth
  7. Crazy feat. Natalie Williams
  8. Breakout feat. LaMeduza
  9. Paradise feat. LaMeduza
  10. Dark feat. Greentea Peng
  11. Reflection
  12. Sunlight feat. Lady Blackbird
  13. Dollis Hill Rufige
  14. Yoshi’s Highway feat. Lady Blackbird

Follow Subjective:


cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail