Singer/songwriter Johnny Lloyd announces a new album ‘Low Fidelity: Vol. 1’

Following the announcement of his surprise new album release coming on 6th December 2019, JOHNNY LLOYD has revealed further details and full track-listing of ‘Low Fidelity: Volume 1’.

Something of an early Christmas gift for fans of the ex-Tribes man everywhere, this new collection will feature a bumper tracklist trove of 20 new songs and will be released via the Xtra Mile Recordings label next week.

A retrospective release and a cathartic exercise for the singer, ‘Low Fidelity: Vol. 1’ draws together an array of demo recordings from throughout Johnny’s years as a solo artist. With material dating back to 2014 to the present year, the collection includes previously unheard and unreleased numbers, as well as alternative versions of fan favourites such as ‘Pilgrims (Demo)’ and the lead track: ‘Happy Humans (Demo)’ (both of which appeared on 2016’s ‘Dreamland’ EP’ and would later be produced by Hugo White of The Maccabees).

Retrieved from Johnny’s personal 8-track recorder and untouched since their creation, in keeping with the album’s title, the tracks here are left deliberately low in fidelity, but prove to be bountiful in their rewards. From the blissful reverb laced atmospherics of ‘Perfect Body’ and ‘Joy Ride’ reminiscent of The Cure, to the fuzzy Neutral Milk Hotel alt-folk stylistics of ‘Love From Above’ or ‘Carolina’, to the Elliot Smith nodding melancholia of the hymnal ‘Walking With The Dead’ or introspective ‘Lost In My Mind’; ‘Low Fidelity: Volume 1’ offers a remarkably raw, unfiltered and revealing listen of a talented songwriter at work and positively electric with ideas.

Johnny Lloyd appeared in a feature on Sound Labyrinth


Follow Johnny Lloyd online: 

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail